Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

Courage does not always roar.

on March 22, 2012

Image

“Courage does not always roar.  Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow’.” -Mary Anne Radmacher

The show “Fear Factor” was (or maybe is?) all about people overcoming phobias.  You’ve got to have some courage to stick a spoonful of bugs in your mouth, let scorpions and tarantulas crawl up your neck, or jump off a towering platform.  But you don’t have to be a thrill-seeker to be courageous.  Sometimes it takes more courage to take a risk and embrace failure as an option, embark on a new journey, or to keep on keepin’ on.  Here’s a personal story to illustrate:

Terrified of snakes that aren’t behind glass at the zoo and wary of heights, I’m a total wuss.  I’ve never done anything brave, unless you count public speaking.  But I haven’t overcome my fear and gone sky diving or pursued a career in food or music (my real passions).  In January, I got to show some real courage.

I had just endured, nay survived (and barely) my first semester of graduate school studying economics.  Never having to work that hard at school before, studying was a new concept to me, and anyone in their first year of graduate level economics will tell you that it is intense.  Needless to say, it was completely overwhelming and exhausting.  I was frustrated, depressed, and felt like an imposter.  I was used to being the best and nothing less, but now I was in jeopardy of changing my career trajectory.

Despite a revitalizing holiday break, I wasn’t sure if I was ready to pick up where I had left off.  At seven a.m. as I walked to the coffee shop before class, I started to doubt myself.  Was this really what I wanted?  If I walked away now, everybody would understand.  There are probably a million others careers out there that I would be fantastic at and enjoy.  In a truly courageous moment, I decided then and there to finish out the year.  Challenge accepted.

Whether you chose your circumstance or it was imposed upon you, the courage you need is inside of you.  It is up to you to make the conscious decision to exhibit it.

–RGE

One response to “Courage does not always roar.

  1. […] I was going to recycle an old post with the same basic message, because I wasn’t sure how this would be received. But some of […]

please share your thoughts

