Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“It exists… it is real… it is possible… it’s yours.”

on March 30, 2012

“Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swaps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and have never been able to reach. The world you desire can be won. It exists… it is real… it is possible… it’s yours.”
Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged

It was my best friend’s birthday last week. I had planned to surprise him early in the morning by standing outside of his house with a traditional birthday cake with a single candle. (I knew in the time I had I would not be able to light 23 without some blowing out or melting completely away.) As I waited for the moment of *SURPRISE,* the candle went out. I was only slightly disheartened—Mother Nature knew she could get her chuckles from me. I went on, relighting the candle a fourth and fifth time growing more and more annoyed at the power of the tiniest gust of wind. It got under my skin. It bothered me that no matter how hard I tried, something little could derail my plans. And then, just as the candle remained lit for more than five seconds and a smile returned to my face, my friend opened the door to see me standing against the sunrise, the happiness I had brought that day painted across my face.

The littlest things can try to extinguish your spark. That spark, unlike my candle, is not easily brought back. Sometimes it is the littlest moments, the tiny upsets, which remind us of larger setbacks, threatening to tear apart our hard work and determination. While I am sure to say we do not let little things get to us, they are often the culprit for many quitters and lost dreams. The straw that broke the camel’s back seems to be made of lead sometimes.

It is important that amidst all the heartache and failed attempts that you never lose sight of your own spark. I’ve mentioned this spark before, perhaps because it is my favorite part of a person. Each person has their own spark, unique to them, burning brightly when they achieve the impossible. Keep that spark alive, for it may be that spark that engulfs your doubts into mere ashes and brings a spectacular brilliance to your deepest desires. Looks what happens when that spark, your spirit, is given the proper chance to burn bright. It can illuminate the world.

Love and Light, Carly

please share your thoughts

