Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Well, if you put enough pressure on coal it turns to pearls.”

on April 1, 2012

Effie Trinket, The Hunger Games

As young adults, we are often under a lot of pressure.  Training on a new job, student teaching, college classes, graduate school… all of these obstacles just pile on the pressure of our already demanding lives.  Heck, we have to try to stay fit (at the risk of Michelle Obama chasing us down), maintain relationships and friendships, keep up with our hobbies and passions, and if we say “no” to someone, we feel like we are letting them down.  It’s a lot of pressure. (Check out Jess Brown’s guest post about saying “no”.)

As an economist I started out rather unrefined, but the pressure of my exams has driven me to work very hard all year.  It’s a lot to handle and sometimes enough to make me want to give up.  Still, I know that I’ve grown so much from the challenges.  I can do things now that I didn’t even know existed in August, and that I was terrible at in November.  Hopefully, by the end of this year, the pressure will have turned this giant hunk of coal into a giant hunk of pearl.

Now it’s time for your reflection.  Admit it– the pressures you faced have changed you, and you’re better because of it.  How?  Are you a better student?  A better teacher or auditor?  Did you learn some new skills along the way?  Cooking? Excel? Programming? Have you improved your fitness or learned to read music?  Did you find your first job?  Think about it.  I bet that, even if you feel like a lump of coal today, you can see how you’re on your way to becoming a beautiful pearl.

please share your thoughts

