Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

The Little Things

on April 11, 2012

As we grow up, everyday we get a little wiser and learn what is truly important in our lives.  And we start to realize that the things our parents and grandparents told us we would understand one day start to come true.

I remember when I was a little kid my grandmother would constantly give me really cliché pieces of advice, and I am sure yours did too. I would always just roll my eyes and say “ok nana”.  But one thing she said always stuck with me.  She said you should do something nice for someone else everyday of your life.  And when I was a kid I didn’t understand what that meant.

But when I got older it really hit me what she was trying to say.  The most important things in life are the people we spend it with. So I consciously started trying to do something nice for someone else everyday. It can be as easy as giving a ride to a friend. Sending a text wishing someone good luck on that presentation you know they are nervous about. Or opening the door for that person carrying the big bag of groceries. You never know when that one little thing will make someone else’s day.

And the thing I didn’t understand when I was a kid is what doing that one nice little thing represents.  It means taking time out of your life for the people you care about.  That is the stuff people remember.  And the day you need the door opened or need that one little thing to pick you up.  Those people will be there for you.

So do the little things.  One day they will add up to something big.

Ryan Biggs studied sports administration at Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP ’11).  He now lives in Chicago where he is a Scout Coordinator for the National Collegiate Scouting Association

Write a post for us! Send your idea to bloggingonthebrightside@gmail.com.  

2 responses to “The Little Things

  1. That was beautiful. What a wonderful reminder to hear from such a young age! I want my little son to grow up on that principle too. Thank you. Sharon

  2. […] Being original doesn’t always mean being the first to bedazzle your cat, or inventing wasabi-ginger hot wings, or coming up with a mason jar moonshine recipe that will be a hit on pinterest.  You can be original by energizing your office on Superbowl Monday when it’s raining and everyone is grouchy.  Start off a chain of random acts of kindness by buying the latte for the woman behind you in line at Starbucks, or pass it on when someone buys you a beer.  Come home and inspire your boyfriend to go for a jog instead of taking a nap.  Try new things like rock climbing or an item off a menu that you’ve never had.  How many times have you driven past that restaurant and never stopped for lunch, or that guy on the corner selling roses and never bought one for your girlfriend?  Bring your secretary a parfait and let her know you couldn’t do it without her hard work.  Start a blog.  Write a song. How many classes will it take before you ask that kid in  front of you his name?  Be original. Start by doing the little things. […]

please share your thoughts

