Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“I won’t worry my life away.”

on April 30, 2012

Jason Mraz, The Remedy

I’m often guilty of worrying too much.  The problem is that I like things to be just right, and I like to be in control.  The fact of the matter is things are not always just right, and most things are not in my control.  I need too work harder at not worrying about those things that I can’t control, and I bet many of you could use the same practice.

Here’s my little exercise for you.  Try to think back a year.  Do you remember what you were worried about?  Besides your hair style or outfit choice, what were the really big concerns?  Are you still worried about it?  Was it helpful to worry the way you did, or did you spend too much energy worrying?  Would things have been different if you didn’t worry so much?

If we’re not careful, we can let ourselves worry our lives away.  When we have legitimate concerns, we need to reach out to our friends and families, our colleagues and bosses, and each other to find reassurance.  When we have small concerns, we needn’t worry so much that we forget to be outstanding.  Never let those worries dull your brilliance.

Indeed, this prayer was written by Reinhold Niebuhr for worriers like us:

  • grant me the serenity to accept the things i cannot change,
  • courage to change the things i can, 
  • and the wisdom to know the difference.
One response to ““I won’t worry my life away.”

  1. […] When we are worried, but we shouldn’t be. Please share this:TumblrRedditTwitterFacebookPinterestEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

please share your thoughts

