Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

If You’re Reading This…

on May 7, 2012

“If you’re reading this… Congratulations, you’re alive. If that’s not something to smile about, then I don’t know what is.”  

Chad Sugg, Monsters Under Your Head

I hope Ray doesn’t mind me taking a stab at the Monday Morning Message.

I thought I would start with something seemingly simple. Living.

It’s a good thing to realize… being alive. But there are so many people who merely exist. Philosophers have forever made a point of pointing out the obvious. Why do think they STILL have to say it in so many different ways. Realize that this day has been given to you while so many others have not made it this far. You were chosen for this day and the day after that and the day after that.

So LIVE. Make the most of it. Take this week and make it spectacular. Dazzle yourself. Notice something you haven’t noticed before. Make it your mission to make the place you are in better than when you arrived.

You are lucky. You get TWO quotes today. The second is from one of my favorite books, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. It reminds us that existing is not enough. Take notice and be grateful. “The real heroes anyway aren’t the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, paying attention.” While I can leave the defining of heroes for another post, be that different kind of hero. Notice. Pay attention. Soak it all in, and give it all you’ve got. Tie on that cape, you’ve got some work to do.

Happy Monday, everyone. Thanks for stopping by on your way to being active in your own life. Now, get out there and LIVE!

2 responses to “If You’re Reading This…

  1. Janis Edwards says:

    Near the end of Our Town, Emily asks, “Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it?—every, every minute?” The stage manager responds that most of us don’t except perhaps the “saints and poets maybe.”
    I think you young writers are walking around with your eyes and hears wide open, just as the rest of our present day poets do. Good for you and thanks for reminding the rest of us!

    • I must say I love “Our Town.” To think that we are reaching people on such a universal and personal level means that we are doing our jobs right. Thank you so much for your comment and your support.

please share your thoughts

