Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“I don’t think anyone ever feels acknowledged enough.”

on May 14, 2012

Rick Springfield

Coby Brooks, CEO Hooters.

As a student of management, I was required to watch two episodes of the CBS hit Undercover Boss.  For those who don’t know, the premise of the show is that the CEO of a company leaves the corporate headquarters for a week and goes undercover to work along side his underlings.  Usually they wear a disguise, and it is fun to watch them fail miserably at manual labor.  At the end of each episode, the CEO reveals himself to his employees and rewards the hard workers with vacations, college funds for their kids, promotions, etc.  While the lessons from my management course are lost on me now, I have watched a few more episodes of the show, and one thing really stands out to me.  People are certainly overwhelmed and flattered by the bonuses they receive from the CEO, but the first thing almost every one of them says is “it feels remarkable to finally be acknowledged for my hard work- to know that I’m doing something right.” Above and beyond any monetary or physical gains, these deserving employees are happy to have a pat on the back and a big “THANK YOU.”

I bet you can change somebody’s week by giving them the credit they deserve.  Let them hear it.  Thank somebody for the awesome job they do on a report or for going the extra mile to clean up that mess.  Who knows, maybe it’ll make its way back to you.

Have a great week everybody!

2 responses to ““I don’t think anyone ever feels acknowledged enough.”

  1. This goes to the premise of doing something good each day in one way or another. If everyone participated our world would be a gentler place. Agree!

  2. Linda says:

    And I’d like to give you a pat on the back for bringing this up – it’s important that we acknowledge those we value and I really appreciated this timely reminder 🙂

please share your thoughts

