Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“No one really knows why they are alive until they know what they’d die for.”

on June 3, 2012

— Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

This particular quote struck me. It’s the reason I’m posting it. I can’t put my finger on it– I just can’t let this one go unexplained.

No one wants to think of death. We all hope that we won’t die before “our time,” but then life has other plans. I have lost a few friends over the past few years and I gotta say– death’s timing SUCKS. And while there’s no cure for death, there has to be something we can do to make our time (for lack of a better term) count.

That is why this quote struck me. Each day we wake up and we have a reason to wake up– your purpose in life (whatever your purpose) is what makes it all worth it. This purpose has to be something that matters to you. No one can live your life for you and no one can assign you a purpose. People like Dr. King found something better than a task that made them simply happy— he found something that felt essential to his survival. He didn’t want to live in a world that did not support equality. He found what lit the fire in him and he woke up every day going out and working towards that purpose.

I wake up every morning knowing that I will walk into my classroom and do everything in my power to make my students know that hard work and compassion will take them anywhere. Do I have days that are easier than some to get out of bed? Sure. Are there days when I wonder, “What if I did something else?” Yes. But both are short lived. I have a nagging feeling in the back of my mind that rings to the deepest part of my heart that says,  “You were born for this.” It is my life. And it makes my time count.

The next time you find yourself doing something that you would die for, hold on to it.

If you are waking up wondering why you’re getting up, change that. Give yourself something to look forward to each day. It could be something little, it could be something big. But make your time count. My wish for you today and every day is that you find what makes you happy. What makes you feel like you count. I’ll chalk one up for you every day so long as you believe in yourself the way that I believe in you.

Love and Light, Carly

please share your thoughts

