Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Champions have the courage to keep turning the pages because they know a better chapter lies ahead.”

on June 18, 2012

— Paula White

The story of our lives. The chapters we are broken down into. We find a way to make metaphors of everything (guilty). And of course, I enjoy finding new ways to think of things. A new perspective.

While this perspective is pretty classic, I am going to stick with it because I like it. A lot.

I didn’t like to read when I was growing up. Sure, I’d find a book every once in a while that caught my eye, but anything I read was required for school and, thus, felt like a chore outside of those books. As I have grown older, I have found books that I really came to enjoy, books that changed my life. It was at this point that it was easy to see the metaphor.

We all have the story of us. We start off finding out all that we can about ourselves. We grow and find comfort and stability. Then our journey begins. We make our way through trials and heartache. We find the people we love and they become our favorite parts of our story. We have our favorite moments, we bend the corners of pages where we encourage something exciting or where we earn a scar from a battle.

All the while, we have no idea what will happen next. Just like some of my favorite books, I can’t wait to see what will happen next. I am flipping from page to page, being careful not to skim and take it all in. I don’t want to miss a moment of this story. Even though I can’t begin to imagine where my story will end up, I have faith in the author.

Some days it seems like our story is one we can’t stand reading. The chance that comes with turning the page and moving on can damn near kill us. But you have to keep reading. Giving up a story doesn’t make it go away. It just postpones the inevitable. So appreciate your story. And take heart that yours is beautifully written and ever so perfectly timed.

Love and Light, Carly

4 responses to ““Champions have the courage to keep turning the pages because they know a better chapter lies ahead.”

  1. Linda says:

    What a wonderful analogy for life and so appropriate for the writers and authors amongst us. Thanks for thinking outside the box 🙂

  2. Beautiful! I especially love these lines: I am flipping from page to page, being careful not to skim and take it all in. I don’t want to miss a moment of this story. Even though I can’t begin to imagine where my story will end up, I have faith in the author.

  3. Nicole says:

    Love it. A great quote to stay motivated when things aren’t so great.

  4. I love your blog. You have some very graphic pics, and the quotes are very motivating. Thanks. I am nominating you for the beautiful blogger award 🙂

please share your thoughts

