Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“If the rain’s comin’ down right now baby, go outside and dance.”

on June 25, 2012

–Eli Young Band, Go Outside and Dance

I remember when I was in grade school, I used to hate when it rained during summer vacation.  I figured, if when snow inhibited my ability to go to school those days had to be made up, then I should get some bonus vacation days when rain inhibited my ability to enjoy vacation.  It was flawless deduction.  After all, if I couldn’t spend the day at the pool, and I was trapped inside with nothing to do but read, how was that any different than being in school?  At least in school I could raise some cane with my classmates.

But that’s the point of this weeks MMM: rain inhibited my ability to enjoy vacation only because I let it.  A familiar, yet unattributed, inspirational blog quote is “Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass; it is about learning to dance in the rain.”  I chose the lyrics over the quote, because the lyrics are instructive in how we should approach a storm.  The lyrics don’t say that we have to learn how to go out and dance in the midst of a storm, it instructs us to get our butts out there and dance.  Why is that important?

How many of us are good dancers?  And for those of us not raising our hands, how many of us are willing to go learn?  Yea, me either.  It’s not that I don’t like to dance, it’s just that I’m not good at it. Oh, I’ve got rhythm.  Heck, I can play  two against three! It’s just some lack of coordination, flexibility, and balance mixed with my dorky personality that make a total fool when I dance (unlike Gene Kelly in that clip).  On top of that, if I were to go outside in the rain and dance I’d be soakin’ wet, dripping, slipping, and a mess in general.  So am I telling you not to go dance in the rain unless you’re a good dancer who happens to have a change of clothes on hand?  Of course not.

There’s something liberating about dancing freely, even without music, and something almost rebellious about doing it in the rain.  It’s a strange juxtaposition of completely against our instincts yet primal and natural.  It feels fantastic to shirk expectations and norms and jump around like a kid in the rain.  Suddenly, the very cause of everyone else’s misery is your therapeutic medium, and you were able to embrace it simply by changing your attitude for it.  Your ruined day of summer vacation just turned into the best day of summer.    Forget learning how to dance in the rain; if the rains comin’ down right now, get out there and dance!  (Maybe just wipe your feet off before you come back inside…)

Post Script

Maybe you see a storm on the horizon, or you are in the middle of monsoon season.  Let us know about it, and we’ll keep you in our thoughts and prayers.  Maybe we can even be your encouragement to get out there and dance, your cyber precipitation dance partners, if you will.

Post Post Scriptum 

The photo on today’s post is taken from the show, The O.C.  I chose this picture, rather than all of the stock photos of people dancing in the rain, mostly because it gave me a chance to share this humorous line with you.  Cohen is hanging upside down from a rope, because he fell off the roof during a rainstorm in an attempt to fix his satellite dish.  He is dressed in a spiderman mask to protect his face from the elements.  Summer has just rushed from the airport, where she was about to embark on a trip with her new boyfriend, to confess her undying love for Cohen, who she discovers in the vulnerable state.  After recreating the iconic upside-down-in-the-rain-spiderman-kiss, the couple returns to their characteristic banter with the following lines:

Seth: Spiderman is really the only protective headgear I own.

Summer: Well, it’s too bad you weren’t wearing protective headgear when you were dropped on your head as a child.

Seth: Oh, zing!

7 responses to ““If the rain’s comin’ down right now baby, go outside and dance.”

  1. We live in Colorado and our state seems to be on fire right now, so I think many of us will be dancing in the next rain. Thanks fir a great post!

  2. It is not raining for me today but I must admit it seems appealing to dance in the rain once again. 🙂

  3. My Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: bloggingonthebrightside.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/if-the-rains-comin-down-right-now-baby-go-outside-and-dance/ […]…

  4. loans says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: bloggingonthebrightside.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/if-the-rains-comin-down-right-now-baby-go-outside-and-dance/ […]…

  5. […] and let its pages be illuminated by sunlight.  And when you feel a drop upon your head and the rain clouds block out the sun, when you’ve rushed back inside to take cover, remember to turn on the […]

please share your thoughts

