Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.”

on July 13, 2012

Friedrich Nietzsche

To me, it is remarkable that it is not until now that I learned this quote.  But I guess the Frost poem is a close substitute.

3 responses to ““The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.”

  1. Enter – the Circle of Silence theory here.

  2. Nicole says:

    Great reminder of the importance of following one’s instincts – especially when it goes against the flow.

  3. FluxFiles says:

    conformity or the possibility of being isolated, pretty tough choice when you think about it

please share your thoughts

