Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“It’s really a wonder that I haven’t dropped all my ideals, because they seem so absurd and impossible to carry out. Yet I keep them, because in spite of everything, I still believe that people are really good at heart.”

on August 27, 2012

— Anne Frank

This weekend, I was awake in the wee hours of the morning talking with my best friend. Our conversation went just about everywhere you can imagine. There came a point in which the conversation shifted to dealing with some of the toughest moments of our lives. He reminded me that, “The two of us have been faced with more than most people our age. We’ve dealt with more than anyone should.”

And still, even after all this time, we find the good in our lives. Even when faced with the same struggles time and time again, wearing away our resistance to negativity, we stood strong. More importantly, we stood together.

We are young. We have time. It is our decision to live life without regrets. Anyone can wake up tomorrow and decide that they are choosing to be happy from this point on. Do not allow yourself to be changed by hardships and defeat.

See the good in the world and see the good in yourself. Remind yourself of how far you’ve come and keep the faith that you will come through whatever life sends your way. Find people who will share your love of life and support you through thick and thin. It makes all the difference.

From one friend to another, you matter. You are you, not what happens to you. Start this week (and the rest of your life) with the decision to be happy. You make the choice… so choose to make the most of your one and only life.

Love and Light,

Carly

One response to ““It’s really a wonder that I haven’t dropped all my ideals, because they seem so absurd and impossible to carry out. Yet I keep them, because in spite of everything, I still believe that people are really good at heart.”

  1. Thanks for those encouraging words. You have already made my day brighter. 😉

please share your thoughts

