Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.”

on August 28, 2012

— Bill Cosby

While I was tempted to make a good Jell-O pudding or ugly sweater reference, this is one of my favorite quotes when it comes to dealing with a particularly difficult situation.

When we are faced with something difficult, we all go through a tough time. Sometimes it’s five stages, and sometimes it is just one day at a time, taking life as it comes unsure of the stage or time of day. We need to remember that even in those moments when it feels like being sad is the only good idea we have, a smile or a laugh can be the difference between healing and irreparable damage.

Be sad. Cry. Scream. And then, realize that smiling or laughing until you cry can help more than you’ll ever know. Be there for yourself.

As I try to end this post, I can’t help but think of a favorite song…

Smile though your heart is aching. Smile even though it’s breaking. When there are clouds in the sky you’ll get by. If you smile with  your fear and sorrow. Smile and maybe tomorrow, you’ll find that life is still worthwhile if you just smile.

Love and light,

Carly

One response to ““Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.”

  1. I love the song smile. It is a beautiful classic.

please share your thoughts

