Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Strange as it may seem, I still hope for the best, even though the best, like an interesting piece of mail, so rarely arrives, and even when it does it can be lost so easily.”

on September 18, 2012

— Lemony Snicket, The Beatrice Letters

This particular quote reminded me of so many things, the least of which was a track from the movie based upon this series’ first book. Before you continue reading, I invite you to turn on the track by clicking here and listen as you read along. 

Music has a way of expressing feelings for which we can never seem to find words. While I believe the word “hope” expresses so much in so few letters, this song always moves me closer to thoughts of hope and optimism. It is why this particular piece is so beautifully written and placed to match the emotions of the film. After waiting and waiting, expecting that the “best” they had hoped for would never arrive, the Baudelaire children return to their lowest point and find what they’ve been waiting for all along… concrete evidence that hope survives all.

We, like these children, need those moments more than anything at times. We need to know that hope survives, perseveres, and thrives, even when we do not give it the best conditions in which to do so.

Even though it may get lost, even if it only arrives every once in a while…wait for the best. It, like so many things, is worth the wait.

Love and Light,

Carly

2 responses to ““Strange as it may seem, I still hope for the best, even though the best, like an interesting piece of mail, so rarely arrives, and even when it does it can be lost so easily.”

  1. I was aghast when I watched the movie for ‘A Series of Unfortunate Events’. It messed around with the order of events at too greater extent, but you’re right, the music was utterly breathtaking.

  2. Understandably so! I’m happy we could both find contentment in the music. The music can make all the difference. 🙂

please share your thoughts

