Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Understanding is the first step to acceptance, and only with acceptance can there be recovery.”

on November 5, 2012

— J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

I apologize for the absence of posts over the past couple days. I’m sure you know as well as I do that life doesn’t always give you a schedule with which to do it all when you need to.

In life, I suppose one of the greatest joys is to know love. I witnessed two people joined together this weekend by that love. And while I know that love is wonderful and all-powerful, it would be remiss of love to go without acknowledging dash of understanding (of each other and of life) that must be present for such love to flourish.

Things can happen in life that we don’t understand– whether it be certain aspects of an event or the occurrence as a whole. I know that for me, understanding can be a blessing and a curse. Knowing why things happen might be our undoing. Not knowing keeps us safe. Still, we want to know why things happen, why life throws us a curve ball, why we are as fortunate as we are to be blessed with such astounding people, and why bad things may happen to such good people. Most often, there are times in life where the “why” is nowhere to be found. While this can be incredibly frustrating, it can also be freeing.

Part of life’s beauty is recognizing that life needs to be  lived to be understood. I know for a fact that there are things I learned within the past few days, weeks, months that for my first 23 years of life by which I was vexed and perplexed. This confusion and annoyance was not enough to deter me from trying to understand it all. And certainly, it was not enough to keep me from moving on with my life.

We need to understand that life cannot be simply understood. It must be lived. It must be taken in and out of context. It must be turned on its ear– we can all benefit from a change in perspective.

This week, focus on understanding. For some people I know, this understanding leads to acceptance and then recovery as this quote suggests. For others, it might be an understanding that brings them closer to the ones they love or closer to a love for life. Whatever you understanding brings you, it is my hope that this week brings you closer to it.

Love and Light,

Carly

please share your thoughts

