Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.”

on November 22, 2012

Roger Caras

 

 

Carmichael, my english springer spaniel, walking with me around the lake on my last birthday.

I flew home for Thanksgiving break super excited to see my family, especially my english springer spaniel Carmichael.  I hadn’t been home since June and missed my chance to visit in October, so my trip was overdue.  When my mom picked me up at the airport, I could tell something wasn’t right.  She told me before we got onto the highway that I was going to have to say goodbye to my bud.  The next day I did.

I like dogs.  Not everyone does.  Everybody liked Carm.  He was the kind of dog that knew where to curl up to make everybody comfortable or what to do to humor a guest.  Intensely loyal, Carm always listened to my father and was always tremendously excited when I came home.  His passing is very sad, especially as our holiday guests come expecting their furry friend to warm their feet under our dining room table or slurp whipped cream after everyone has had their fill.

But it would be unlike the authors of this blog to be sad for too long.  Instead, I’m focusing (with Carly’s help) on remembering all those fun times with Carmichael- the cute puppy digging holes in our yard or chewing at the furniture, the handsome dog drooling on my tuxedo or ringing the jingle bells to alert us that he needed to go outside.  I’m sure my dad is thinking about 4am wakeup calls to chase the deer in our yard, nature walks around the lake, and strangers delighting in their mistaking Carmichael for his wife sitting upright in the front seat.  And all those happy memories make me remember that Carm had a very happy life.  That makes me feel good.  And while all dogs go to heaven, I’m sure Carm has a special coop next to the lake full of indestructible squirrels.

So usually on this blog our posts spell out some metaphor for life.  I’ll let you draw that metaphor yourself and instead leave you with another good dog quote.

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
― Josh Billings

One response to ““Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.”

  1. Jen Kay says:

    this blog entry was really touching. it sounds like your dog was very special. i guess we should be grateful for all the good memories

please share your thoughts

