Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“That’s the thing with magic. You’ve got to know it’s still here, all around us, or it just stays invisible for you.”

on December 10, 2012

— Charles de Lint

photo (2)

Last week, I began a holiday tradition with my classroom: The Elf on the Shelf. As a child, I never had one. This was certainly not a loss as I was enamored with the holidays regardless of sprites and special circumstance. However, upon two students requesting an elf’s presence in our classroom, I happily obliged.

As the days have passed, the elves have traveled around our classroom causing more commotion than productivity. While this might bother some teachers, I welcome it. Why? It seems like most of my students almost forgot that they were kids. Sometimes we like to act older than we are. Regardless of the holidays they celebrate or the information they have access to, we have all been reminded that we are all susceptible to magic and that magic is very real. We have all had a large dose of holiday spirit and I, for one, am ecstatic to provide a reminder of the joy this time of year is known for.

Sometimes children (and us as adults) can forget to believe. This forgetfulness can effect our ability to believe in a number of things: everyday magic, the good in the world, in other people, in ourselves, EVERYTHING! We are all so caught up in “acting our age,” but we should, more importantly, act as though life has not hardened us. We should prove that our faith remains simple like that of a child. We should practice believing in ourselves and others. We should believe that magic exists in the little moments and that people have the power to reignite our faith in the good.

I know I have be absent for a little while on the blog, and it pains me to see that happen. I am thankful, however, for this added time to think. We all need time to be reminded of what is most important. At this time of the year, especially, we are able to open our eyes and see the magic that exists around us.

I wish you many magical moments this holiday season, but especially this week. Let yourself get wrapped up in the magic. The magic is all around us. Do not let it go unnoticed.

Love and Light,

Carly

please share your thoughts

