Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“The soul is healed by being with children.”

on December 17, 2012

— Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Sandy Hook Elementary

Spending each and every day with 21 wonderful, bubbly children makes my life quite interesting.

Some days are happy. We fill our classroom with light, laughter, and lots of “teachable moments.”

Some days are a challenge. We do not feel like doing our best, being nice to our friends, or following directions.

Some days are all over the place. We are racing from one class to the next, leaving pencils on the floor and papers at our desks instead of in our backpacks to take home for the day. We forget a glove or our favorite hat and miss our buses to return for it.

Regardless of what it brings, each day is a blessing. Each day we spend together is the best day of the year. My students and their families have shared their lives with me, and I spend every day teaching them all that I can. Language Arts, Math, Social Studies, and Science are part of the plan. Life lessons find their way into every subject. They will leave my classroom better people. That is what matters most to me.

It is my love of teaching and my love for my students that made this post so difficult to write. With that in mind, Friday during an in-service was __________________. (If you can find the appropriate word to place here to express my shock, horror, and disbelief, feel free.)

This week, our nation was faced with a devastating realization– not all people have the same motives that we do. We watched as the tolls rose and parents and students wept. We watched as a place of hope and caring was turned into the complete opposite. We watched as innocence was stolen along with the lives of 20 children and 6 adults. It something that no one could ever fix with mere words. I cannot begin to try.

I, along with so many others, can only try to continue the way I know how– with gratitude and hope.

I am fortunate enough to walk into my classroom this morning and see all 21 of those bright, smiling faces smiling back at me. We may have a happy day, a challenging day, or an off-the-wall day. Regardless of what the day brings, at least it will bring us together.

It is my hope that this post  brings you closer to hope and to those you love. We send our heartfelt condolences and prayers to ALL those affected. We thank all those who helped to protect school members and students. We thank the teachers who risked their lives to save their students.

Never forget that everything can change in an instant. Love those around you and never hesitate to tell them how much they mean to you. And for those of you who are blessed to share your lives with children: remind yourselves how much time spent with them can heal. They are light. They are all that is right with the world. They are hope. They are what matters most.

Love and Light,

Carly and Ray

please share your thoughts

