Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

Be deaf when people tell you that you can’t fulfill your dreams.

on January 22, 2013

Carly and I are both musicians.  Musicians hear things (or at least feel them, as in the case of Beethoven).  Usually, we hear the things we are trained to hear, like melody and harmony, rhythm and timbre.  But sometimes we hear things we don’t need to hear.  Don’t get me wrong, my selective hearing is fine when mom tells me to empty the laundry basket.   Still, it’s really hard to tune out when people tell me I can’t or won’t do what I set out to do.  When a naysayer comes between me and my goals, my dreams, it sticks in my craw, maybe insanely so.  I need to learn to be deaf.  It’s okay when their crap fuels my fire, but not when I let their words get too real.  I’m in control.  The road might have some bumps and puddles, but I’m at the wheel.  You’re in control.  The right might have some bumps and puddles, but you’re at the wheel.

please share your thoughts

