Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

on January 30, 2013

–John Bingham

230604_10151287866052701_517119967_n

I borrowed this from the Pittsburgh Marathon Facebook page.  Marathon training is tough, and running a marathon is tough.  But once started, barring injury, I suspect most people finish.  The hardest part is probably signing up.

That concept is true for a lot of things in life.  Take college or grad school.  A lot of students are the first in their families to go to college.  They might not have a lot of friends who went to college to tell them what to expect.  Deciding to go to school is the hardest part, and after running the first few miles of this proverbial marathon many of them will finish.  Looking back, it won’t be a miracle to them that they finished, but that they started.

So what’s your proverbial marathon?  What is it that you’ve wanted to achieve but haven’t taken that first step yet?  How about today?  Once you get started, you’ll probably succeed.

 

 

 

Now is as good a time as any to announce (or admit) that I’ve begun training for the Pittsburgh Marathon.  To my cross-country teammates that’s interesting given that I vowed never to run again after our last race senior year.  To my close friends that’s interesting given that I once again vowed never to run again after I finished the Philadelphia Marathon.  But my mind has mostly forgotten how tortuous the training and race can be, and I have enough courage to conquer what little memory I have left of the process.

please share your thoughts

