Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“The world will break your heart ten ways to Sunday, that’s guaranteed. And I can’t begin to explain that, or the craziness inside myself and everybody else but guess what? Sunday is my favorite day again. I think of everything everyone did for me and I feel like a very lucky guy.”

on February 10, 2013

— Pat Solatano, Silver Linings Playbook

JENNIFER LAWRENCE and BRADLEY COOPER star in SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK

I recently went to see this movie for the second time with my friend Jess Brown, a dear friend and amazing blogstress. Through all of the tears and the heartache and the raw quality that this movie shows off, we both survive with a few tears shed and a renewed sense of optimism. I could sing this movie’s praises for quite some time, but I will leave you with just a few high points to keep in mind:

  • Enjoy the good times while the times are good. Don’t wait for “something better.” Right now is as good as it gets. You cannot guarantee yourself something better than this. And if you’ve got air in your lungs, clothes on your back, and a solid attitude, your life is pretty damn good.
  • Don’t let the little things derail your overall progress. You missed a shot and you lost the game. You ate a brownie when you’ve spent the last week “being good” on your diet. It rains the day you are supposed to go to the beach. Don’t let these teeny tiny pebbles become mountains obscuring your view of the progress you’ve made and all that you’ve yet to accomplish. Keep going and keep your head up.
  • The struggles are what make you strong. They make you great. Beautiful people have known ugly times. The happiest people you know are that way because they have been through some rough times that damn-near broke them. Pick yourself up. Dust yourself off. You are strong and you will be great.
  • Everyone you know if facing a battle you know nothing about. While they may not look the same as your problems, everyone has them. Everyone could use a little compassion and understanding. That goes for YOU as well.
  • And while the quote I chose to begin this post was one to close a movie, I believe another to be equally adequate to bring closure to this post. “This is what I believe to be true. You have to do everything you can, and if you stay positive, you have a shot at a silver lining.”

Everyone has a chance at a silver lining. Don’t count yourself out– ever.

please share your thoughts

