Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“The longer we dwell on our misfortunes the greater is their power to harm us.”

on February 22, 2013

Voltaire

My hard-drive crashed today.  Not my internal hard-drive, nor even my external hard-drive, but my portable hard-drive (which I had just purchased on 10/31, I might add).  “Ray, why do you need two terabytes of storage?” you might be wondering.  Well, my office computers are kind of unique, in that anything stored on them is erased at 11 p.m.  That means that all of my very important data and code (read “my entire thesis”) has to be stored on a portable drive. This story is made more fascinating by the fact that the first thing I was to-do this morning was to back up my hard-drive.  But, it was time to leave, and I needed to take my hard-drive to work.  So, the back up could wait until I got home tonight.  Except, as I mentioned, my hard-drive crashed today.

mac_folder_question_mark

So that’s kind of a bummer, because I had not backed up my hard-drive despite the impressive progress I’ve made over the past few weeks.  So great was this bummer, that I was quiet on the car ride home.  My roommate wondered why I wasn’t myself.  My hard-drive crashed, and I was dwelling.

Finally, I could no longer stomach the stench of my own sorrow.  I packed up and went to visit the Geek Squad.

I couldn’t watch as the shaggy headed geek dismantled the vessel of my seminal work.  But when he emerged from the computer graveyard, he handed my a thumb-drive with all of my essential files on it.  My hope and my work was restored.

Dwelling on our misfortunes, brooding over our troubles and mistakes, getting pissy with the dealer doesn’t get us very far.  When we are too busy fretting, we aren’t busy enough playing the hand we’ve been dealt, and we can miss the lessons we are being spoon-fed.

Back up your files.

 

One response to ““The longer we dwell on our misfortunes the greater is their power to harm us.”

  1. Reminds me of the story re’ the monk hanging over a cliff by a tiny root that could break at any moment. On one side he saw a strawberry, succulent, ripe. Above him were tigers scratching the dirt to get to him. In his last moment, where to put his attention? I have been practicing since I became an initiate of my guru (about twenty years ago) that same dilemma–the ability to switch the focus of my attention among competing stimuli, and it has made a difference in my experience.

please share your thoughts

