Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”

on March 1, 2013

— Marcel Proust

Anyone who knows me should find it no surprise that this is the way my mind works.

Trying to find a quote for today I thought of gratitude. I am making myself more aware of opportunities to be grateful and more inclined to thank Life DAILY for things that make me smile.

In my efforts to find a quote about gratitude, the first quote that popped up was this one. One by Marcel Proust. Here’s the part where you’re not surprised.

The only tie I have to Marcel Proust is a quote from one of my favorite shows– Gilmore Girls. And in the words of Lorelai Gilmore, my thoughts went here…

“Hmm, I never read Proust, I always wanted to. Every now and then, I’m seized with an overwhelming urge to say something like ‘As Marcel Proust would say..’ but of course I have no idea what Marcel Proust would say so I don’t even go there. I could do, uh, ‘As Micheal Crichton would say…’ but it’s not exactly the same, you know?”

While we may never have exactly the right words that can express our gratitude (and while Marcel Proust can help, but only so much), rest assured that the act of thinking, feeling, and living “gratitude” brings about a life that exudes gratitude.

For the people who make us smile, for the “pay-it-forward” do-gooders who make our days, for sunshine, for snowflakes, and everything in-between.

Think grateful. Live grateful. Speak grateful. Breathe grateful. BE grateful.

2 responses to ““Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”

  1. […] “Let us be grateful to the people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make … (bloggingonthebrightside.wordpress.com) […]

please share your thoughts

