Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Life has many ways of testing a person’s will, either by having nothing happen at all or by having everything happen all at once.”

on March 18, 2013

Paulo Coelho

When everything happens all at once, it takes discipline, organization, time management,   and efficient work to accomplish what needs to be done.  My friend just spent the last few months preparing for boards (6 exams), which she took all last weekend.  This week, she has to take 8 final exams.  Finding the willpower and motivation to sit at a desk and study for the hours required, to cram all the required material and skills, is a real challenge.  But if you’re like me or my friend, then you live for challenges like this.  She said “it’ll feel great when it’s all done.”  Despite all of the “it’s not in the arriving, it’s in the striving”-type quotes on our blog, striving is exhausting and arriving is satisfying.

Often when we are very busy, we wish that things would slow down.  How many times do you catch yourself thinking “if I just had another day.”  Many of my classmates wish they didn’t have classwork so that they could focus on their research.  I have that luxury, and it drives me crazy.  It takes a lot of discipline, organization, motivation, and patience to accomplish what needs to be done and avoid boredom.  For me, nothing is happening at all; I’m in the doldrums of life.  I know it’s only temporary, and I’m trying to enjoy it and make the best of it.  But my personality is really much better suited for the “all at once” brand of life.  It’s not quite bad enough that I add “drink coffee” to my to-do list in order to accomplish something, (although I have made gnocchi from scratch and started running again for no real reason) but the waiting game can bend me out of shape like a paperclip.

Whether everything is happening all at once or nothing is happening at all, you have the character to achieve what needs to be accomplished.  When you stop striving and start arriving, it’s going to feel great.

Have a great week everyone,

-R

keep-calm-and-get-shit-done-18

One response to ““Life has many ways of testing a person’s will, either by having nothing happen at all or by having everything happen all at once.”

  1. Michiko says:

    Reblogged this on Michiko Chic.

please share your thoughts

