Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“The important thing is to keep the important thing the important thing.”

on May 13, 2013

— Albert Einstein

IMG_2995

It was sitting in the grand ballroom of a Marriott in Boston that I heard this quote for the first time. I was surrounded by a group of individuals who have dedicated their lives to working with children. We were there to regain some of our playfulness and bring this energy and other techniques we had learned to help children dealing with trauma. It was this weekend in which I became a Life is good Playmaker. It is my hope that future interactions and involvement with such an amazing group will bring even more enlightenment to my teaching and towards my writing for all of you.

It was in my usual fashion that I received this quote: I copied it down knowing that I would use it to motivate myself. I hope this week you might use it to motivate yourself as well.

Sometimes in life, we forget what is most important to us. Whether it is family, friends, a passion for our life’s work or simply doing what is best for ourselves and each other, we lose it. Unfortunately, it is often with this loss of importance that we can lose a part of ourselves.

This week, I would like all of you to think about what is important to you. Start by making (and keeping) a list of what is important to you. These things could be the people that are most important to you.  If spending time with family is important, make it a priority. Just because you put something on the top of a to-do list does not mean it is important. You must actually make an effort. If you are not willing to put forth the time towards it, ask yourself… Is it really that important? If it is, make time for it. If not, make a change. These things could be choices you have made in order to be a better, stronger person. Regardless of how you categorize them, you should spend a few minutes deciding what is most important to you. Make those things most important this week. Even if you only focus on one thing this week or one of these each day, you are already making a conscious effort to keep the important thing(s) the important thing. 

I encourage those of you who feel comfortable to share what they hold most important. As sense of accountability can be a great motivator to hold yourself accountable.

I wish all of you a week of astounding hope and continue progress as you work to keep the important thing(s) the important thing. Please remember one very important thing: YOU ARE IMPORTANT, TOO. In this training, I was reminded that if I did not have joy myself, I could not spread joy to others. Be sure to remind yourself of your own importance so that you can work towards creating a more joyful, meaningful life this week.

Love and Light,

Carly

please share your thoughts

