Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

Participate

on June 5, 2013

“Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, an sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings.”

— Elizabeth Gilbert

It’s that time of year: the end of the year. With the end of another glorious year comes the not-so-glorious task of “doing grades.”

As an elementary school teacher, not EVERYTHING can be graded, nor can it all be graded the same way. I look at the papers I bring home, thinking of how hard students tried. They poured their heart and soul into something that did not turn out the way they had hoped. I have to account for effort. I have to see if they were present in the lesson, listening, and trying to succeed. I want to see my students participate. I want to know that they are actively trying to engage with my lessons, my ideas, my thoughts. They need to have a hand in their own success.

Life wants the same thing out of each and every one of us. Tell me you haven’t slacked earning your “participation points” recently… yeah, that’s what I thought. It doesn’t matter that we get everything right, and goodness knows, perfect is a fantasy. But each time you don’t participate, at least a little, you’re losing points. Perhaps you won’t get a grade for your efforts, but the point you are missing has a much heavier weight attached to it.

What is the point of suiting up? What is the point of signing up for anything? What is the point of waking up, getting out of bedding, and trying at all?

BECAUSE IT IS YOUR LIFE. No one else can live it for you. Unless you are willing to participate, life can’t even meet you half way.

Give life the benefit of the doubt. Don’t miss the point. And for goodness sake, get an “A” in participation. You’ll thank yourself one day, I promise.

Love and Light,

Miss McPartland

 

2 responses to “Participate

  1. katcares4u says:

    Reblogged this on katcares4u and commented:
    Yes, your never going to get the best out of life if you don’t keep moving forward towards your goals even when there are leaps and bounds in the way. Don’t even let it stop you from who you want to become

please share your thoughts

