Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“When a great moment knocks on the door of your life, it is often no louder than the beating of your heart, and it is very easy to miss it. ”

on August 16, 2013

— Boris Pasternak

It has been a while since I found myself at the helm of this blog. I’m sure the last thing you would expect from the optimist is feelings of guilt, but two weeks have gone by without a post, so here I sit, ready to make amends. You can imagine there is a reason, and here it is: in the past two weeks of my life, I have moved my entire life for a new teaching job, found a place to live, moved my entire classroom, begun unpacking in both places, obtained a new car and drove 1,200 miles in those two weeks. I tell you all of this because within the chaos and movement and craziness that have been the past 14 days, I have found something special within myself. It is a sense of recognition. A new vision and the ability to listen for life’s great moments.

For the past two weeks, I have been waiting for a “hiccup”. A stumbling block. The “catch.” With all of the good that came along, I knew it was good. It felt good to see “good” coming my way. I worked my behind off and it came to fruition. But you just never know if the “good” while find its way downhill.

Believe it or not, with all of the good I wrote about, there wasn’t anything to counteract it. Sure, there was stress. There were tears, breakdowns, and doubts that began to creep into the most trying times. I’m smart enough (and realistic enough) to know that life is not perfect. Mine is no exception. I asked myself, colleagues, and close friends alike. They helped me to come to terms with the fact that these wonderful moments were simply that… GOOD things happening. It was hard-fought, it was long sought-after, and it was meant to be good. Perhaps the reason I was so worried about this “great moment” and all the moments that crammed themselves into that short time was my inability to see the good without looking for the lurking, ever present “not-so-good.”

These long-awaited moments snuck up on me. The ferocity with which they made their entrance left me stunned. When something this big happens, we expect to see it coming for miles and miles, The greatest moments in life find a way to lie in wait for the right time. They listen when we do not. They follow us, echoing our hopes. The fill our soul and our heart. They become the beat that we follow as we dance through life. Before we know it, we are right in the middle of the greatest moment we can imagine.

The great moments do not come by accident. We do also not stumble upon them by accident. We need to learn to listen for the gentle knock of great opportunities. The calm we use to listen more closely to our opportunities will bring calm to the rest of our lives as well.

Life is knocking. Calm your inner voices and feel the pulse of life like you would your own heart beat.

Life is calling. LISTEN. 

One response to ““When a great moment knocks on the door of your life, it is often no louder than the beating of your heart, and it is very easy to miss it. ”

  1. Janis Edwards says:

    Congratulations on your new job, and may God bless your new home and this leg of your journey!

please share your thoughts

