Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“We don’t live in our fears, we live in our hopes.”

on August 22, 2013

Mike Tomlin

miketomlin8

I like Mike Tomlin as a coach.  The guy is 41 years old and has coached in two Superbowls, including a victory.  When Tomlin is on the sideline, he’s intensely focused;  another quote attributed to him is “Be where you’re at.”  Live in your moment.

Coach Tomlin can be tough on guys who make mistakes and can flash a healthy smile when things are going his way.  But what I really like about him is that he isn’t afraid to shake things up if the Steelers’ performance is less than stellar.  Playing .500 football isn’t the Steelers’ way, and some stars were held accountable and let go after last season’s lackluster finish and replaced by some young talent.  There are a lot of teams (including one across the state) where that kind of objective first attitude wouldn’t fly.

I like the quote for this post, because Tomlin isn’t afraid to do what it takes.  He is talking about the way that life manifests itself around what it is that we focus upon.  Are you focused on what could go wrong?  What you don’t know?  A risk? A challenge?  Are are you focused on the end?  That goal? A dream?  Your hopes?  Put yourself there, and live in it.

One response to ““We don’t live in our fears, we live in our hopes.”

  1. Debra says:

    Nice one! Fits with my insight I had today which is: Stop telling the universe about a negative money situation, and start letting it show you abundance! (i.e. get out of my own way with my thoughts !) :O)

please share your thoughts

