Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

Sometimes you need to step outside, get some air, and remind yourself who you are and who you want to be.

on October 8, 2013

Sometimes I can start my day off right with a bowl of maple oatmeal. Sometimes I can pick myself up in the afternoon with a good cup of coffee. I even look forward to my run in the park or preparing and enjoying my dinner. Okay, I don’t usually look forward to a run in the park…but I do it. It can be very relaxing to read on the porch in an adirondack chair. But that’s not this moment.

When I’m staring at spreadsheets all day for someone else, spreadsheets that reflect numbers that are largely meaningless, taking that step outside is the most refreshing thing in the world. That moment feels like jumping into a cold spring on a hot and humid Georgia summer day. It’s an intentional break, and when that unconditioned air hits my lungs, I recall who I am and where I’m going. Throughout the day, when Excel pitches a fit, I’m thinking about where I want to be. But during this break, I realize that I’m getting there.

Take a trip outside today. Sit down for a minute. And remember who you are.

 

The-Beautiful-Grand-Canyon-by-Michael-Matti-1024x682

please share your thoughts

