Blogging on The Brightside

"I think I can. I think I can. I think I can." -The Little Engine That Could

“Today we fight. Tomorrow we fight. The day after, we fight. And if this disease plans on whipping us, it better bring a lunch, ’cause it’s gonna have a long day doing it.”

on February 4, 2014

— Jim Beaver, Life’s That Way: A Memoir

I’m sure I could come across a dozen different quotes about cancer. I could find quotes based upon survival, perseverance, hardship, struggle, overcoming obstacles. They would all work out just fine. But sometimes, you just need to spell it out. No flowery words, no over-the-top metaphors. Plain and simple.

Individuals who have fought or continue to fight are the strongest people I have ever had the privilege of knowing. They make the impossible happen everyday. They get out of bed when their body physically holds them back. They go to work, they raise children, they support their families. They love as deeply as ever and savor every moment of life they have. They are miraculous and beautiful.

Everyone is affected by cancer in some way. Everyone has someone who has felt its wrath. It’s time that we rose up as one and said enough is enough and mean it.

To those in the fight… to those survivors…

To the supporters and the loved ones, the caregivers and those left behind…

Put on your ass-kicking boots, tie ’em up tight, and give it your all.

Cancer won’t give up without a fight, and neither should we.

please share your thoughts

